Leadboard banner design 2

WPGM Recommends: Tomorrow x Together – Minisode 3: Tomorrow (EP Review)

I am so excited to share with you the incredible stories behind the new release by Tomorrow x Together this morning. Its name is Minisode 3: Tomorrow and it ends the third chapter of their story of promises and long friendship.

Introduced by the new single called “Déjà Vu”, I’ll try to talk to you about that and the other six tracks that complete the album. First of all, though, I think I have to move way more backwards to introduce these boys properly to you and why they are using their music to tell an important story.

Tomorrow x Together is a south-korean boygroup of five members. Their names are Choi Soobin, Choi Yeonjun, Choi Beomgyu, Kang Taehyun and HueningKai. They debuted in march 2019, in fact they recently celebrated their fifth anniversary, and this is their ten album, if we consider full and mini ones.

I’ll try to explain how this long and deep story goes on since the very beginning. The first part is introduced by the first trilogy called The Dream Chapter (Star, Magic and Eternity) and see its conclusion with Minisode 1: Blue Hour.

In this first chapter, we can follow the life (or so called one) of Yeonjun who is having nightmares about a growing horn on his head and being left alone because of that. The only people who seem to accept him for who he actually is, are these four other guys, which we are not completely sure they are real or not.

The second part is called The Chaos Chapter (Freeze and Fight or Escape) and see its conclusion with Minisode 2: Thursday’s Child. Maybe this is the moment where the boys started to forget what the actual promise of staying together forever was, and our Yeonjun is almost sure he doesn’t have any friend.

We can easily see that shown in the various music videos like, for example, the way they are nerd alone losers who are not accepted even by their families.

So here it comes the third part, called The Name Chapter (Temptation and Freefall) that see its conclusion with Minisode 3: Tomorrow. As I said, this last album, a mini one, has been released this morning, and introduced not only by the single and music video “Déjà Vu”, but also by various concept photoshoots.

Yes, there’s definitely something very different and unique about k-pop, that we don’t see anywhere else. Every k-pop album has multiple versions. They contain the exact same amount of songs, but each version has different photobooks, different other contents, and also photocards.

This last thing is the craziest idea could have been create by a human person. As a collector, I can guarantee you it’s not a normal life. Minisode 3: Tomorrow has been released in ten different versions, five of which are personalized single members one.

This first one is called ‘Light’ and we can see the boys all with blonde hair and super soft makeup laying on an even softer garden. I could easily say they look like baby dolls in there. The second one is called ‘Ethereal’. This time the boys look more like rockstars placed on a truck in the middle of the street, while trying to play an angelic guitar.

The ‘Romantic’ version is the third one, very classic, with flowers and even corsets. ‘Promise’ is the last version, maybe the standard or the main one, not sure, but definitely the most direct connection to the teaser trailer. Crowns are back, and “Crown” is also the title of their debuted song from 2019, so everything looks like it’s connected.

We are facing a Little Prince concept, where these five princes lost their way home, but they cannot remember their own names or where that home is. “Déjà Vu” is just the desire to remember, because they are sure their future is there somewhere.

Though “Déjà Vu” is the introducing track, that is not the opening one. In fact, the album starts with “I’ll See You There Tomorrow” quite an obvious title. If we pay attention, in fact, to their entire discography, and their previous music videos, we can easily understand how this can be consider the last part, or maybe the closest one to it, of this incredible fairytale.

Going on we have “Miracle”, with its electronic rock sound, that tells us quite openly who we shouldn’t take anything but specially anyone for granted. Even the small fact of being together is already a miracle.

“The Killa (I Belong To You)” is the track in which we have our first Soobin and Yeonjun unit. This can already be considered a huge thing, if we add it to the fact it’s a very sensual song, perhaps talking about the relationship between the wolf and the prince. Soobin in fact said he had some difficulties in recording it, but thanks to Yeonjun’s help, he got over them easily.

The next song, “Quarter Life”, also has a new unit. Beomgyu, Taehyun and Hueningkai are the youngest, so it’s quite funny and unique, in my opinion, that they are singing about the struggles of becoming adults. The album ends with “Déjà vu (Anemoia Remix)”, which is even better than the original version.

Minisode 3: Tomorrow, the sixth mini album by Tomorrow x Together, is out now. Go give it the love it deserves.

Listen to Tomorrow x Together’s Minisode 3: Tomorrow EP below and stream it everywhere else here.

Words by Barbara Aragona

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.