Best New Music Of The Week // August 10 – August 16, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Peluché – “The Guy With The Gammy Eye”:

Peluché are a three piece band who are signed to the London based label Speedy Wunderground. Noisey commented that this is one of the speediest releases that the label has ever done. “Essentially what happened was this: Speedy Wunderground recieved Peluché’s track, caught their live show, sent them down to producer Dan Carey’s South London studio, and after one day recording, sent the track off to the pressing plant to be pushed into vinyl. Speedy indeed”. Now they have released the music video for “The Guy With The Gammy Eye” which you can watch below. The team who made the video, East City Films said “it’s a subtle and darkly humorous performance”.

Musiq Soulchild – “Love (XXYYXX Remix)”:

Another masterpiece from the proficient producer that is XXYYXX, this time remixing a classic Musiq Soulchild track titled “Love”. The lyrics are wonderfully inaudible thanks to his cutting technique in which he is drawing out words, changing pitches and using glitch-like techniques to give the track his trademark liquid-like effect. The glockenspiel-like sound gives the track more of a serene feel, with similar sounds adding a raindrop-like effect throughout track. The mix of textures and tones should be disorientating, but blend together in such a unique and satisfying way. You can listen to the track below.

BJ The Chicago Kid + Chance The Rapper – “Church”:

BJ The Chicago Kid has teamed up with Chance The Rapper for a brand new track called “Church”. The song  is due to feature on BJ’s upcoming album In My Mind. You can listen to the song below. This isn’t the first time the two rappers have teamed up musically. They also got together to make “Good Ass Intro” which is the opening track from Chances’ album  Acid Rap. Chance also recently released a song with Noname Gypsy called “Israel (Sparring)”.

Lana Del Rey – “High By The Beach”:

Last week, Lana Del Rey released the audio for her new single “High By The Beach” Today, (August 13) she has released the visuals to go with the piece. The music video shows Lana lounging around at her beachside house, where she is being chased by a photographer in a helicopter. It doesn’t take long until she takes matters into her own hands when she whips out a massive gun and shows them who’s boss. You can watch the video below.

Bekki Hlava + Chunks + Youngs Teflon + Avelino – “Running Away”:

Taken from the Concrete Jungle compilation album, which is due to be released on August 28, “Running Away” is the latest offering audiences get to hear from the upcoming record. Featuring Bekki Hlava, Chunks, Youngs Teflon and Avelino, the single was premiered earlier this week via Complex UK. The compilation album will include features from the likes of Skepta, Bashy, Kano, Devlin, Wretch 32, Chip and Sway among others. Listen to “Running Away” below, and pre-order the Concrete Jungle album here.

Iron Maiden – “Speed Of Light”:

British heavy-metal legends Iron Maiden have, as of Friday morning (August 14) officially unveiled their first new piece of material in five years, since 2010’s The Final Frontier. The track, entitled “Speed Of Light”, was released early Friday morning, accompanied by an excellent video on the band’s YouTube page. “Speed of Light” is the first cut from Maiden’s upcoming record The Book of Souls, due to be released on September 4. The release of the album has been complicated by lead singer Bruce Dickinson’s successful battle with cancer, but is now finally within our grasp and the excitement among the rock and metal community is palpable.

The track itself, in short, is excellent. It showcases Iron Maiden’s well-matured sound, honed after 30 years of songwriting, whilst bringing a whole host of new elements into play. One of these new elements is shown almost before the track itself has come into full swing, with drummer Nicko McBrain hammering on the cowbell to count in the song itself. The band does not overuse this piece of percussion, and avoids sliding into cliché, but it serves as a stark reminder that they are still trying new elements of music, this deep into their history.

Cristobal And The Sea – “Fish Eye”:

London-based group Cristobal And The Sea have given us a taste of their new album Sugar Now which is to be released on October 2, with the track “Fish Eye”. Between the four members of the band, the group has roots from Spain, Portugal, France and London, however their style cannot simply be pinned to one location.

The track maintains light melody sounds with soft dipping vocals resonating over a summery sound, stylistically similar to The Beach Boys and Sting, however with a more mystical, church-like echo to it and a unique sweetness with a folky pop sound. The name of the song, a reference to the camera lens, is a visual image of the transcendental sound itself (in effect). The group will be performing in London on the 11th of September at Green Man Courtyard Festival, and October 2 at Birthdays in Dalston, get tickets here.

Team Salut + Mista Silva + Siza – “Struck”:

London music producers of African descent Team Salut have announced their debut EP United Colours Of Africa, to be released on September 7 via independent label Krystal City. The EP is backed by lead single “Struck” which features Mista Silva and Pop “newcomer” Siza. Mista Silva, we know, from his many hits including “Boom Boom Tah”, “Dance Low” and “Goes Down”, but I definitely remember Siza, formerly known by her full name Siza Sibeko, from her Kooks cover “Naive” produced by Cynikal from five years ago – you can relive that below.

According to Team Salut, “The United Colours of Africa EP is a showcase of Africa’s vast electronic sounds fused with elements of popular genres,” says the calm Mr Wood. Treat this EP as your invitation for you to step into our world musically… And we can’t wait for you to join us”. Pre-order the record here.

Words by Shakira Knight, Joshua James, Ayo Adepoju, Sam Jourdan and Lauren Hurrell

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.