Best New Music Of The Week // January 11 – January 17, 2016

WPGM Logo (1)

Mac Miller + Miguel – “Weekend”:

2015 was a good year for Hip Hop, a lot of solid albums were released including Mac Miller‘s “GO:OD AM” which is arguably Mac’s best work to date. After dropping three music videos off of the album already this fan favourite track is the first of the new year. After rapping and stumbling in a dark alley with smoke, he’s picked up by Miguel and they ride off in a fine vintage car before they head into a warehouse with women in bodysuits. Check it out below.

Pr0files – “Like A Knife”:

LA-based duo Pr0files consists of longtime friends Lauren Pardini and Danny Sternbaum. The pair have released their new track “Like a Knife” which comes from their upcoming album Jurassic Technologie, due for release on 23 February via Straight A Records. The bands profile says they are “an electronica duo living in sunny, yet twisted, Los Angeles, California” that write songs about “sex addiction, hypnotherapy and love”.

“Like a Knife” provides distressed synths and dreamy vocals, which together creates a cool vibe that takes you away from the mundanity of the real world. You can listen to the track below, as well as following them on Twitter here.

Bloc Party – “Virtue”:

British indie rock band, Bloc Party, released their fourth studio album, ironically titled Four, in 2012. Following the success of what was a megahit, the foursome are set to follow up on Four after almost four years later with Hymns, their fifth studio album. It is set to be released on the 29th of January, just two weeks from now. In anticipation for the new album, Bloc Party have already released two new singles off of it: “The Love Within” and “The Good News”, and have now released a third one, “Virtue”, showing a progressive ascent in the band’s musical journey. Listen below.

The Last Shadow Puppets – “Bad Habits”:

last shadow puppets
After posting two music teasers last month, supergroup The Last Shadow Puppets, consisting of the duo Miles Kane and Alex Turner of Arctic Monkeys, they have finally released new music after almost eight years – the last bit of music they put out was their debut album, The Age Of The Understatement, in 2008. The duo spontaneously decided to drop a new song and its music video, springing a shocked reaction from fans all over the globe – particularly those that were on their way to sleep before the massive surprise. Watch the video for “Bad Habits” below.

LUCIUS – “Madness”:

Lucius have shared their brand new track “Madness” which you can listen to below. The track is the second track from the bands upcoming album Good Greif. This album will be the follow up to the groups 2013 release Wildewoman.

On the album, vocalist Jess Wolfe says: “When we started writing for this record, we had been away from home for nearly two years. We had just returned from tour, having gone through such varied emotions—loneliness, sadness and exhaustion alongside excitement, fulfillment and some of the most joyful moments in our lives… Whenever one of us had an idea or a feeling, the other was already a witness to it and could help navigate through it—for the two of us, this usually came in song form”.

Vocalist Holly Laessig adds “…When considering titles, we wanted to be sure to acknowledge any serious subject matter, while simultaneously allowing ourselves a comic sigh of relief from any personal turmoil. Ha! The yin and yang of the record naturally unveiled itself and, so, Good Grief”.

Weezer – “King Of The World”:

One of the biggest and most influential rock bands in the world, Weezer, are finally releasing a brand new studio album as the follow up to 2014’s Everything Will Be Alright In The End. This will be their tenth studio album, and is called both Weezer and The White Album – being an eponymous album definitely means it’s something to look out for, especially since it comes out on the 1st of April.

In anticipation for the upcoming album, Weezer have already released two singles off of the album: “Thank God For Girls” and “Do You Wanna Get High?” and have just dropped a third single called “King Of The World”. Watch the music video for “King Of The World” below.

Rostam – “EOS”:

Live 105's Not So Silent Night In Concert - Day 1
Rostam Batmanglij, band member of Vampire Weekend, has released a new solo track “EOS” which you can listen to below. Rostam says the track is inspired by a photograph he took while traveling in Jaisalmer, India. The musician and producer has also worked with the likes of Charli XCX, Carly Rae Jepsen and Ra Ra Riot as well as his time in Vampire Weekend.

Speaking to Pitchfork about his music, Rostam also gave information on the next Vampire Weekend album, saying that it was “too early” to talk about it however added “I’m always making beats, and when I can hear Ezra singing on one of them in my head, I send it to him. That’s one of the ways that we’ve always worked together”.

Emilie & Ogden – “Ten Thousand”:

Montreal singer and harpist Emilie & Ogden has released the official video for her new single “Ten Thousand”. The track is from her debut album of the same name which is out now via Secret City Records. You can watch the music video below.

The album has been described as “Magical” by TIME, as well as Stereogum adding “Kahn’s angelic voice works as well as any instrument could, and her intricate harp work proves that she doesn’t exist as a reincarnation of [Tori] Amos or [Joanna] Newsom, but a newer, more modern variety”.

Emilie & Ogden is due to embark on her first headline tour of the UK in March, stopping in Leeds, Manchester, London, and Bristol. The UK dates will follow a January US tour supporting Half Moon Run.

Words by Aliriza Kutlu, Kira Knight, Qurat-Ul-Anne Sikander, and Kira Knight

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.