Leadboard banner design 2

Best New Music Of The Week // January 26 – February 1, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Selvsse – Rituals EP

One of the leading lights of London’s new wave of producers is Selvsse and his recent release, Rituals, is just a snippet of what’s set to come. The two track drop consists of “Paradise in 8bit” and “Be Tru”, and both tracks provide a story which sheds more light on the other. “Paradise in 8bit” begins in a subtly emphatic fashion as we’re treated to a rare insight into the spoken mind of the artist. This is supported by dramatic and ambient production injected with that iconic Selvsse bass. And “Be Tru” transitions the listener into a bouncier atmosphere, juxtaposing laid back synths and keys with captivating vocals, sharp snares and rounded bass. Stay locked for much more music from Selvsse throughout this month and go vibe with him live at Notting Hill Arts Club on February 19.

Broken Back – “Halcyon Birds”

Here is a squeaky clean offering from Parisian artist Broken Back, comparisons have already been drawn between himself and fellow mellow sunshine bands Milky Chance and Whilk and Miskey, but there is much more taking place in the few records that the Frenchman has released so far. In “Halcyon Records“, there are numerous influences on show, the lightest of indie-folk guitars and vocals which are caught somewhere between Thomas Jack and Tom Odell.

The song would be at home on any indie disco playlist due to its danceable rhythm, but unfortunately its danceable side resembles an Avicii folk mishmash, and lacks the quirks of what makes indie-electro fun and unpredictable. That aside, it is still a pleasant track and is able to conjure some sweet imagery of warmer seasons to come. It remains to be seen how much more experimental he may go with the electro side of things, for now the songs are safe radio-friendly bets, but lack any surprise cutting-edge. His upcoming album “Dear Misfortune, Mother Of Joy” is available to pre-order on iTunes now.

Big Sean + Drake + Kanye West – “Blessings”

After announcing his upcoming album and then stealing the show on Meek Mill’s comeback track, Big Sean wastes no time in dropping a new single with Drake and a surprise feature from Kanye West. Produced by recent hit-maker Vinylz (J. Cole, Lil Wayne), “Blessings” is another great release in what is already shaping out to be a strong year for Hip Hop. The album Dark Sky Paradise is due on February 24, and is rumoured to feature guest appearances from Ty Dolla Sign, Ariana Grande and Travi$ Scott. Stream the new track below.

Mike Skinner – “You Better Be”

New music from the legend that is Mike Skinner is always an event in our books. According to his publicists, 2015 is going to be a busy year for the man formerly popularly known as The Streets. He started this year by offering up a remix of Murkage’s “Can I Live”, and some collaborative work with Toddla T is also in the pipeline. In the mean, lets enjoy the new one titled “You Better Be”.

TĀLĀ x How To Dress Well – “The One”

What do you get when you combine a nifty experimental, atmospheric beat maker with some sultry, sexy smooth vocals? Of course you get a recipe for something so hot, seasoned to perfection! TALA and How To Dress Well have brought us a master piece, so fresh and damn right smooth, titled “The One”, as part of Yours Truly’s ‘Songs From Scratch’ series! Give your ears a treat because this track is pretty spectacular and get this, it’s also a free download too! Both artists bring a sample of their uniqueness, making this track like no other out there! Take a listen here for yourself, the track is polished to perfection, there’s nothing these two can do wrong. Listen to both the TĀLĀ version and the HTDW version of “The One” below.

Shlohmo – “Buried”

Electronic artist Henry Laufer, better known by his stage name Shlohmo, has released the second installment from his anticipated album Dark Red, set to be released April 6 this year. His newest release from the 11-track album is the breathtaking “Buried“, beginning with an ambient intro which grows dark and menacing and features nostalgia of previous work. The full track list is below along with Laufer’s new stunning track.

Words by Ayo Adepoju, Melanie John, Sej Jheeta, Lauren Martin, Sean Fitzsimons

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.