Best New Music Of The Week // May 11 – May 17, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Alyssa Veniece + Emerson Brooks – “Unfamiliar”:

Literally being still kind of unfamiliar in the music business yet, Alyssa Veniece is slowly but surely making a name for herself in the game. The talented singer, songwriter and actress has collaborated with Canadian singer Emerson Brooks on her new single titled “Unfamiliar”. The song is only the beginning of her soon-to-be-released EP, which will include four other tracks. By providing soft and beautiful vocals, both Veniece and Brooks managed to create a good first start. Listen to it here.

Cardboard Foxes + Minerva – “Forever”:

North London’s newest dance posse Cardboard Foxes have just released their debut single “Forever” on Soundcloud. “Forever” has dropped just in time for festival season this year and possesses all the right components to make this, one of the feel good hits of the summer. The piano driven house groove features vocals for up and coming female vocalist Minerva and will be available on iTunes on the 29th of June. The track is taken from their forthcoming debut album which is scheduled for release this year. I should imagine you will be hearing a lot more from these guys this summer, listen to the track below.

Solange – “Rise”:

The atrocities in America recently, most specifically in Ferguson and Baltimore have been heartbreaking to witness – leading most people around the world at some point to address the recent events in the way in which they know best. Last week, in Balitmore, the legendary Prince blessed us with a tribute at a rally and this week the fabulous Solange has done the same in the form of a new track called “Rise”, which she performed last night (May 14) at an HBO event for the Bessie Smith biopic (starring Queen Latifah). As always, Solo delivered the track beautifully with her sultry vocals and the deep felt lyrics of the song does nothing but draw your full attention. The multi-talented artist also let us know that the track may or may not be on her next album – definitely a project to keep an eye out for! RapUpTV have hooked us up with the visuals – check it out below!

Kendrick Lamar – Swimming Pools “(Hannah V Remix)”:

British producer Hannah V is not a newcomer to us, today she returns with a remix of Kendrick Lamar’s “Swimming Pools”, turning the single into a fresh, laid-back, emotive and key-filled version, which according to her publicist, is a sweet juxtaposition and beautiful example of Hannah V’s ability to mix her classical training with modern production. In Hannah V’s own words, “I was having a really shitty week. I had to move out of the house that I had called home for the last 5 years. The first place that felt like HOME in over 15 years. And added to that, I was too skint to get effed up! I couldn’t even drink the pain away!! So, instead – this remix was born. I think you can sense the heaviness and sadness in this. The beautiful thing about music is that it is a healer. I feel a million times better after having finished this! I only hope I did King Kendrick justice”.

T.I. + Chris Brown – “Private Show”:

The two collaborating artists have revealed the official music video for the quite erotic single “Private Show”. The song is taken from T.I’s recent album Paperwork and the title “Private Show” is definitely the program in the video. Chris Brown and T.I. being surrounded by quite a few half-naked women very much causes provocative scenes which are perfectly fitted for the slow tune though. The dot on the i is when Breezy is showing off with his legendary dance-moves at the end of the movie. Watch it here.

Future – “56 Nights”:

After introducing the so-called #MonsterMondays, rapper Future promised to release a new music video every Monday. This time it’s for the track “56 Nights”, taken from his same-named mixtape. In the dramatic black and white video, directed by Vincent Lou Film, Future and his crew are strolling through the streets while being followed by women. Future took inspiration for both the video and the song from his DJ Esco being in an overseas prison for 56 days. Watch it here.

DJ Khaled + Lil Wayne + Big Sean + Chris Brown – “How Many Times”:

DJ Khaled never seems to disappoint. His newest hit “How Many Times”, which had its world premiere this morning on iHeart Radio has gone viral and already seems to be one the dopest songs of the summer. After the success of “Hold You Down”, it is hard to top the featured artists but with Lil Wayne, Big Sean and repeatedly Chris Brown, DJ Khaled has made that possible. Breezy starts off with his soft vocals, directly followed by Lil Wayne and Big Sean. Every single one of them own the track during their verses. Listen to it here.

Skales + Davido – “Always”:

With his much anticipated debut album, Man Of The Year, due to be released on the 18th of May, Skales has officially released the lead single titled “Always”. Featuring Davido, “Always” is a rhythmic love tune and gives us a good indication of what to expect from the 20-track album, which features artists such as; Burna Boy and Olamide. Produced by Spellz and directed by Adasa Cookey of Squareball Productions, the crisp visuals for “Always” was shot in Lagos, Nigeria, watch and enjoy it down below…

Words by Antonia Künzel, Jake Bates, Rebecca Lemoru, Ayo Adepoju and Shade Alegbeleye

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.