Leadboard banner design 2

WPGM Reviews: Nickelback Live At The O2 Arena (In Pictures)

Returning to the UK for the first time since 2018, Canadian rock band Nickelback made up of: Chad Kroeger (vocals), Daniel Adair (drums), Mike Kroeger (bass), Ryan Peake (guitar) took to the stage at a sold out O2 Arena in London as part of their Get Rollin’ tour. After nights in Glasgow and Manchester the band performed a set list full of loved hits from each album spanning their 29 year career so far.

Anyone who dares put them down to just a recent meme (which they think is iconic) need to jump back on board the Nickelback band wagon. Fans however came out in full force donning merch from throughout the decades, trucker and cowboy hats as a nod to bassist Mike Kroger.

Starting the night off was Lottery Winners and indie pop based from Greater Manchester formed of Thom Rylance (vocals), Robert Lally (guitar), Katie Lloyd (bass), and Joe Singleton (drums). Thom had the most incredible voice, walking onto the stage referencing Freddie Mercury and his famous crowd participation chants. This band is definitely one to watch with their talent and high energy performances.

Beginning their electric set with San Quentin, Nickelback’s performance was complete with incredible lighting and production setting the scene for how crazy the crowd were. The 20,000 sold out arena were fully interactive with Chad with every single person’s hands in the air, clapping along, belting out lyrics on their friends or partners shoulders and countless rock horns throw in the air throughout the set. The band’s eagerly awaited return had the entire crowd in the palm of their hand.

Included in the crowd were two women who were attending their 90th Nickelback show! Guitarist Ryan Peake stepped down off the stage to give them a guitar pick and a hug in-between songs during a period of interacting with the crowd. You could see their faces light up during this interaction and showed that even after 90 gigs they still weren’t tired of their favourite band.

T-shirt cannons were fired throughout “Figured You Out” across the arena for fans to catch before the band took the time to speak about the Obakki Foundation. Ryan’s wife Treana Peake established this foundation and from every ticket sold on this tour, £1 is donated to them.

The Obakki Foundation supports humanitarian causes such as providing clean water to communities agriculture and education. Footage of the foundations work was shown as the band performed When We Stand Together.

Nickelback then welcomed Lottery Winners back onto the stage for a joint cover of Oasis Don’t Look Back In Anger and nothing gets a British crowd going quite like an Oasis sing along.

The last few songs of the night consisted of some of the biggest Nickelback hits including Rockstar where they invite a member of the audience on stage to sing with them. A gig go-er named Craig joined them for the song absolutely smashing it and looked so at ease onstage.

Photograph was a highlight of the gig as the crowd filled the arena with lights as the sang along to the acoustic rendition, however not before Chad delivered the internet meme line ‘Look at this graph’ which is something I never thought I would see in my life time in real life.

Finishing off the set with hits “How You Remind Me”, “Gotta Be Somebody” and “Burn It To The Ground” the night the gig came to a close and I think it’s safe to say we will be hoping that Nickelback will be back here in the UK soon and we won’t have to wait another six years for their return.

The Get Rollin’ tour continues into Europe this month.

Nickelback Setlist 21 May 2024 – O2 Arena (London)

1. San Quentin
2. Savin’ Me
3. Far Away
4. Animals
5. Someday
6. Worthy to Say
7. Figured You Out
8. When We Stand Together
9. Because of You
10. This Afternoon
11. Don’t Look Back in Anger (with The Lottery Winners)
12. Photograph
13. Rockstar
14. Those Days
15. How You Remind Me
16. Gotta Be Somebody
17. Burn It to the Ground

Words + Photos by Niamh Louise

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.