Best New Music Of The Week // April 6 – April 12, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Vicktor Taiwò – “Feathers & Wax”:

British Nigerian electronic artist Vicktor Taiwò premieres the single “Feathers & Wax” from his upcoming EP Juno, which is due to be released digitally on June 16. Previously pursuing a career in photography, Vicktor only recently switched paths to music taking inspiration from a musical family. Talking about Juno, Taiwò says, “this project will always be reminiscent to me of the growing pains of a young boy, from the subject matter to the creation and exploration of the music itself. It was in many ways unconscious, uncontrollable but inevitable. It was in many ways uncomfortable and acutely painful. I don’t know if any of this permeates through the music itself when you listen to it, I wish it does“. You can listen to the single “Feathers & Wax” down below.

J Warner – “Do Or Die”:

London singer/songwriter and Disturbing London affiliate J Warner returns with new single “Do Or Die”, taken from his forthcoming Est. 1990 EP and following the previously released “Chill Chase” featuring Wretch 32. J Warner has previously written for the likes of Tinie Tempah, Sasha Keable and JLS, and is now stepping into his own as a solo artist, who Clash Magazine reckon “could well dominate in 2015“. Listen to “Do Or Die” below.

Mumford & Sons – “The Wolf”:

Mumford & Sons have shared a brand new track “The Wolf” from their forthcoming album. The band’s third album Wilder Mind is scheduled for release on May 4, following 2009’s Sigh No More and Babel in 2012. Wild Mind was recorded by producer James Ford at Air Studios in London. Mumford & Sons have also confirmed that the new record will not feature a banjo, an instrument that they have become synonymous with throughout their career. You can listen to “The Wolf” below!

The Maccabees – “Marks To Prove It”:

Indie-Rock Band The Maccabees share the music video to go with the recently released “Marks To Prove It”, the new track off their upcoming new album. Still to be un-named, the new collection from the band has finished recording and is in the mixing stage of the process, rumoured to be released at some point this year.

The single “Marks To Prove It” is a taster of what to expect from the album, which is available for download on May 11 released by Fiction Record. The band go on tour very soon to support the new release, dates and more information can be found on The Maccabees official website. For now, you can watch the new fast-paced music video – directed by Joe Conner – for the fast-tempo single “Marks To Prove It” down below.

Obenewa – “He”:

Obenewa has always been a star, that has never been in any doubt. You will remember her from her 2009 mixtape Therapy with “I Wish” and “Letter To My Heart” and 2011 EP Once Upon A Time, as well as hugely popular tracks “Put Yourself In My Shoes” which was championed by BBC Radio 1 and BBC 1Xtra, and “Make It Better” which was featured on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Bubblers Vol. 7. Now signed to Kieron McIntosh’s new label Wunderkid, the London native is back with a brand new single titled “He”, with production coming from McIntosh, Walter Ego and Ninja Tune’s Raffertie, which you can listen to below.

The Japanese House – “Teeth”:

Electronic band The Japanese House share another track off their upcoming EP Pools To Bathe In which is due to released on April 27. The band have only released two other tracks so far “Pools To Bathe In” and “Still”, but have still received countless media attention, including DJ Huw Stevens who played the title track on his BBC Radio 1 show last week. The track “Teeth” is the latest installment from The Japanese House, still keeping their unique sound with a touch additional indie-rock sounding guitar riffs and echoey vocals. Listen to the track via Soundcloud down below.

Twenty One Pilots – “Tear In My Heart”:

Twenty One Pilots consisting of Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun are leading up to their fourth studio album Blurryface, due to be released on May 19 via Fueled By Ramen. Since they announced that a new record was on the way, they have been releasing music videos for tracks that feature in the upcoming album, starting with “Fairly Local” three weeks ago.

The video for “Tear In My Heart” which was released yesterday, is the second installation from the duo, and although the lyrics suggest heartbreak, the track has a more upbeat sound compared to “Fairly Local”. Twenty One Pilots are about to kick off a world tour, starting in Phoenix, Arizona on April 18, then they briefly come to the UK in May before heading back to the US. The band’s UK tour dates are listed below, along with their newest video “Tear In My Heart” off the upcoming album Blurryface.

DJ Afro B + Joey B – “Baba God Remix”:

Following on from the success of his single “Baba God” which was released at the end of 2014, DJ Afro B has finally released the much anticipated official remix version featuring popular Ghanaian hitmaker Joey B. The success of the hit song, looks set to continue into 2015 after the hashtag #AfrobeatsWithAfroB became a trending topic on twitter last weekend, after Afro B exclusively played the song to his listeners on his popular radio show ‘Afrobeats With Afro B’ on Reprezent Radio.

More than just a DJ, Afro B is definitely not an artist to sleep on this year and I’m sure we can expect a lot more from him. The “Baba God” remix was produced by Team Salut, and the net video was directed by Major Play London. Watch and enjoy the video for “Baba God (Remix)” down below.

Words by Jenny Woollett, Ayo Adepoju, Clare Povey, and Shade Alegbeleye

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.