Leadboard banner design 2

Best New Music Of The Week // October 5 – October 11, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Will Butler – “Anna”:

Will Butler of Arcade Fire fame released his debut album, Policy, in March and has now treated fans to a new music video for “Anna”. The video stars Amazing Spiderman actress Emma Stone and nearly every movement made by Stone and her co-dancers is a theatrical performance.

The actress twirls and saunters on board the Queen Mary, interacting with the crew and throwing herself wholeheartedly into the act. The choreography was put together by Ryan Heffington, the one behind Maddie Zeigler’s intricate dance moves in “Chandelier”, and directed by Brantley Gutierrez. Policy can be bought here, and the music video is below.

Nicolas Jaar – “Fight”:

After his 2015 releases 0f Nymphs II and Nymphs III, naturally, Nicolas Jaar just keeps giving the people what they want with the release of Nymphs IV. Taking a break from scoring Russian films of the 60s, in this abstract musical chapter, the Chilean experimental genius releases “Fight”, which is the one and only single making an appearance. Jaar continues to be wonderfully unpredictable but still so enjoyable, as “Fight” takes a hold of you right from the beginning, avoiding the ‘gloom’ from Nymphs II and III. This EP is released under R&S Records, renowned for their experimental electronic catalogue, including of course James Blake. Click below to hear Jaar‘s track “Fight”.

Verb T + Illinformed – “Slightly Unhinged”:

Verb T & Illinformed - Press pic 1
Verb T, one of the UK’s most longstanding rappers with a discography filled with quality albums, teams up with beatsmith Illinformed for the release of “Slightly Unhinged”. The track is taken from the duo’s recent album The Man With The Foggy Eyes, released earlier this year through the powerhouse that is High Focus Records, who are leading the way in homegrown hip-hop. The somewhat brief track (it’s under two minutes in duration) is accompanied by a fantastic animated music video, courtesy of Tom Jarrett; this isn’t the first time the label has collaborated with animators for its videos, and they are always immensely enjoyable. Check out the video below.

Floating Points – “Nespole”:

The dancing in Floating Points‘ music video for “Nespole” might just be the strangest, most intriguing I’ve ever seen. I was immediately transfixed by the quick, robotic moves. The music sounds like small machines communicating with one another other, something that dancer Kiani Del Valle shouldn’t be able to dance to, but does. The video doesn’t need anything else to make it interesting, but a replica of Del Valle is thrown in, just to shake it up even more. “Nespole” is taken from Floating Points’ upcoming album Elaenia and the video can be viewed below.

The 1975 – “Love Me”:

The 1975 are back with a brand new single which was premiered on BBC Radio on the 8th October on  Annie Mac’s Hottest Records show. Lead singer Matthew Healy said that the new material was a play on ‘celebrity pop culture’, saying that the new album I Like It When You Sleep For You So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It was needed to tell some truths. The track itself is quite definitely eighties inspired with funk synths and guitars riffs littering the track’s smooth foundations, while the lyrics are also well written. You can listen to the Duran Duran/Prince – esque track here and below.

Wild Belle – “Giving Up On You”:

Wild Belle 2 by Jennifer Tzar
Chicago based rock band Wild Belle, who love to dabble in a range of genres from psychedelic-pop to ska and punk have now released a music video for their latest single “Giving Up On You”. Put on your dancing shoes and join the fans in the video who took part in a 12-hour long party of nonstop hardcore boogieing session at Natalie and Elliot Bergman’s hometown gig.

Departing slightly from their slower reggae sound heard in the last album, Elliot Bergman defends the evolution of the band claiming they now possess a more fuller sound which is “bigger” and “badder”. According to their tumblr, their second album is due to come out next January. Watch their music video for “Giving Up On You” below.

GoldLink – “Spectrum”:

GoldLink also known as D’Anthony Carlos is an American rapper from Washington DC. In the second half of 2013 he released some tracks via Soundcloud which were very well received. He then released his project The God Complex in 2014 which received great recognition. Now, he has a new full length album named And After That, We Didn’t Talk which is due for release on November 13 via Soulection. He has also shared “Spectrum” which is the lead single from the upcoming album. You can listen to the new track below.

Bondax – “Temptation”:

After what feels like an eternity, Bondax have returned with a slightly different track “Temptation”. Featuring vocals from Erik Hassle, this new single takes Bondax electronic sound down a different route, as their once fast paced smooth summer time vibes have slowed down and been replaced by a darker R&B tune.

Fans of this electronic Lancaster duo may have been caught off guard with this new development and may have to adapt their dance moves which matched the older fun beats of “Giving It All” and “Baby I’ve Got That”. But after a one year absence of creating new material, this new silky-pop sound ensures that there’s a lot of excitement in store for whatever is coming around the corner. Check out their latest single “Temptation” below.

Words by Shanade McConney, Finn Brownbill, Sam Bennett, Joshua James and Shakira Knight

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.