Best New Music Of The Week // August 17 – August 23, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Method Man – “2 Minutes Of Your Time”:

Staten Island’s very own Method Man has just dropped another single, “2 Minutes Of Your Time”, from his new album The Meth Lab ahead of its release tomorrow (August 21) via Tommy Boy. The track, as the title may suggest, is a succinct lecture from the veteran rapper and Wu-Tang Clan member where he sets the world to rights.

This single is the only full track off the album where the beat is reserved solely for Meth, giving him ample time to speak his mind on the current state of the Hip Hop industry, spitting such lines as: “rappers don’t really ride, they piggy back / I’d trade ’em all to have Tupac and Biggie back“. Listen to the track below.

Res One + Blabbermouf – “Wreck Shit”:

Res One, a Bristolian rapper, who is part of the Split Prophets crew, a group who are making major noise in the UK Hip Hop scene, has today (August 17) released the music video for his track “Wreck Shit”, which features Dutch MC Blabbermouf, and an instrumental from Truffel, a producer who also hails from Holland. The track is taken from Res’ recent album, his debut solo project, entitled Delph Efficacy, which was released last month. The album also features appearances from Leaf Dog, BVA and his fellow Split Prophets cohorts. Check out the video below.

Lee Scott – “Everythang Is Money”:

Lee Scott continues his onslaught of videos for his recent album Butter Fly, which was entirely produced by Cambridge’s Dirty Dike, with this visual for “Everythang Is Money”. The album was released on the UK powerhouse High Focus Records, who have been releasing quality homegrown hip-hop and dominating YouTube screens with videos for the span of our recent memory.

Dike has been diving head first into the world of production as of late, first with his album with Lee, as well as recent news of an upcoming album with talented Brighton rapper Ocean Wisdom. On September 21, he picks the mic back up though, with the release of his fourth album Sucking On Prawns In The Moonlight.

Davido + Dammy Krane – “Izzue”:

In the build up to the release of his highly anticipated sophomore album, HKN’s Davido has released his latest collaboration with Hypertek’s Dammy Krane. Titled “Izzue”, the potential banger was produced by Shizzi and is a great follow up to their previous collaboration “In Case Of Incasity”, which was released last year and featured on Dammy Krane’s album, The Enterkraner. “Izzue” will not feature on Davido’s forthcoming album Baddest, but for now, it is enough to keep Davido fans entertained. Listen and enjoy “Izzue” down below…

Ocean Wisdom – “Splittin’ The Racket”:

High Focus Records’ Ocean Wisdom continues a hugely impressive year with “Splittin’ The Racket”, a track from Brighton rapper Ocean Wisdom which is taken from his upcoming album Chaos 93, which is due out later this year. The track is produced by Dirty Dike, who is handling all the beats on Wisdom’s album, and features cuts from DJ Sammy B-Side.

The single is accompanied by a visual directed by Aboveground, and is available to buy digitally right now. It is also available to pre-order on limited edition vinyl, which will include “Walkin'” and a bonus track produced by 184, as well as instrumentals and acapellas.

Bundi – “Summertime In The Manor”:

“Summertime In The Manor” is the latest single from London rapper Bundi, the single was first premiered by Charlie Sloth on BBC 1Xtra, and its accompanying music video was recently premiered by VIBE Magazine. Capturing the essence of summer, even though the British summer this year has been non existence, the visuals for “Summertime In The Manor” see Bundi being up to no good – chasing girls and chilling with his mates – as you do in the middle of August. Bundi’s new track is taken from his forthcoming mixtape titled Health And Wealth, until then, enjoy the video for “Summertime In The Manor” below.

Wolf Alice – “You’re A Germ”:

Four piece alternative band Wolf Alice have just released their new music video for “You’re A Germ”. Featuring zombies, an axe murderer and a clown, the music video directed by Chris Grieder is the stereotypical cabin in the woods horror cliche. “You’re A Germ” is from Wolf Alice’s debut album My Love Is Cool, which was released on June 22 via Dirty Hit Records.

We are big fans of horror movies, terrified of them no doubt, but massive fans all the same. We always buy one on the road to watch together on long drives – we have figured out who will die first in the zombie apocalypse that is undoubtedly gonna happen, Joff can do a brilliant Leatherface from The Texas Chain Saw Massacre impression and it was only a matter of time before we made our own”, the band said. Watch the video below.

Lunar C – “Super Saiyan Intro”:

Bradford rapper Lunar C today released a new music video for the intro track taken from Chief Wigz’ mixtape, Super Saiyan Mark 1, which is available here. Wigz and Lunar are frequent collaborators, with tracks such as “Cat Mafia” and the “Left Right Left Remix” being examples of their energetic and witty previous tracks. Wigz’ mixtape focuses on his talents as a producer, with vocals provided by a selection of West Yorkshire hip-hop talent. With Lunar’s latest solo project entitled Breakdown Rebuild having recently been released, the Fly Tippers are showing no signs of slowing down.

Words by Nick Bimson, Sam Bennett, Shade Alegbeleye, Ayo Adepoju, Maddy Raven,

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.