Leadboard banner design 2

Best New Music Of The Week // December 14 – December 20, 2015

WPGM Logo (1)
Wretch 32 + Avelino – “Hulk Hogan”:

Last week, North London lyricists Wretch 32 and Avelino announced on BBC Radio 1Xtra that they were set to unite for a joint mixtape titled Young Fire, Old Flame. Just moments after the release of “15” which got social media buzzing and an epic fire in the booth, the pair dropped a new visual to their track “Hulk Hogan”. “Hulk Hogan” is the third installment from their new project, check out the video to it below. Young Fire Old Flame is out now, if you are a fan of British lyricism at it’s finest, this is more than likely to excite you.

Illiterate + NuphZed – “Flies”:

Brighton MCs Illiterate and NuphZed release the visual for their track “Flies”. The track is produced by Milton Keynes producer Simiah (the instrumental is available on his Colour Point album, released in April through King Underground Records, here. “Flies” is part of YogoCop Records’ advent calendar, releasing a track a day through their soundcloud page. Check it out here. Illiterate and NuphZed both made a number of appearances on the Team Dreebs Vol. 2 project, released through YogoCop back in October. Watch the video below.

Jordan Morris – “Celebrate”:

Jordan Morris takes to the streets in his fresh new visuals for latest track “Celebrate”, which takes on the classic UKG sound but with a soulful twist, and the video merges perfectly, with its fun, quirky and youthful attitude that as a viewer you can just vibe off. Its not hard to get excited about this young artists potential, having previously collaborated with Dappy and Faith SFX and now producing tracks like this, that so clearly highlight his musical niche and perfected sound.

“Celebrate” is a tune that switches from sweet to sexy and keeps the audience hooked with its cheeky lyrics and imagery to match. If his forth coming EP Discover that is out in the new year is anything like his latest offering then 2016 is looking pretty damn good for Jordan Morris and sounding pretty good for us. Check it out right here.

Savage Brothers – “Freedom Or Death”:

South Carolina hardcore hip-hop duo Savage Brothers release the new visual for their track “Freedom Of Death”, produced by Hitfarmers. The track is taken from the forthcoming album (also entitled Freedom Of Death, which is due for release on December 18 through Goon Musick, the record label headed up by German production outfit Snowgoons. The album is available for pre-order here, and features appearances from MCs such as C-Rayz Walz, Ras Kass and Fredro Starr (of Onyx). Watch the video below.

Meyhem Lauren – “Money In My Pocket”:

Queens, New York MC Meyhem Lauren is one of the ones to watch on the American underground scene. A frequent collaborator with fellow Queens spitter Action Bronson, he released the Silk Pyramids album last year, which was produced entirely the legendary Buckwild. Lauren rounds off 2015 with the visual for his track “Money In My Pocket”, which is produced by German/Afghan beat-smith Farhot. The track is taken from Mayhem’s forthcoming LP Piatto D’oro, set to be released soon through Fool’s Gold Records. Watch the video below.

Permission To Dance – “Supernatural Sexy”:

soundcloud SS
Permission To Dance have released their debut track “Supernatural Sexy“. The song is an original composition by the five-piece funk band from London, and is the first of a series of groovy releases preceding a debut self-titled album (Date TBC). “Supernatural Sexy” was recorded and produced at Resident Studios, and recommended for fans of Earth, Wind and Fire, Jamiroquai, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Daft Punk.

“Supernatural Sexy” combines a tight, funky groove with a heavy dance back-beat and a dash of percussive slap bass. Lyrically, Freddie Mawhood (vocals) sings of sex and spirituality – “If sex is this good here on earth, then it must be bloody amazing in the afterlife“. Inspired by the nu-disco DJ scene, Permission To Dance aim to bring some of those tasty flavours into a live band setting.

SK – “Mr Man”:

Following on from the success of his last single “Independent”, rising Nigerian Pop sensation, SK is back with an even bigger and better single titled “Mr Man”. Released under Krystal City and produced by emerging producers Notch & Bones, SK has written a thank you song for his fans and the audience for all of the support they have shown him in 2015.

With over half a million YouTube and Soundcloud streams already under his belt and his previous singles, “Let’s Go There”, “Mujo” and “Independent” being favourites amongst fans and critics, SK has a lot to be thankful for. After a successful 2015, the rising 18 year old is definitely an artist to watch out for in 2016. Listen and Enjoy “Mr Man” down below.

5 Seconds Of Summer – “Jet Black Heart”:

Australian band, 5 Seconds Of Summer, released their self-titled debut studio album, 5 Seconds Of Summer, last year in June. The album spread their fame and popularity all across the globe, further helped by the promotion handed to them by One Direction. Since then, 5 Seconds Of Summer have managed to make their own way through the music industry, after releasing their second studio album, Sounds Good Feels Good, in October, earlier this year. So far, they have released three singles off of the album: “She’s Kinda Hot”, “Hey Everybody!” and “Jet Black Heart” – the last one having only been recently released, with a brand new music video to go along with it. Watch it below:

Words by Kenny Leavett, Sam Bennett, Kerrie Lobb, William Kitchener, Shade Alegbeleye and Qurat-Ul-Anne Sikander

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 WPGM. Website Developed by WeDoWebApps.